I’M GLAD YOU ASKED

Why It’s Good To Live in Los Angeles

Reluctantly written by someone who grew up in Toronto

Barbara Andres
6 min readApr 16, 2022

--

Santa Monica Pier sign, black and white road markings and palm trees
Santa Monica, where I live. Not LA, but close. Photo by Gerson Repreza on Unsplash

Toronto is, in my biased opinion as a person born and raised there, the best city in the world. Your hometown can be found on one or the other end of the feelings spectrum; it’s the place you’ll go back to when hell freezes over or the place you’ll always have a piece of in your heart. I’m in the second camp. I always love going home to Toronto, especially if friends or family come along and I can show off the city.

I mean, come on. The CN Tower. Lake Ontario’s magnificent shoreline. Black squirrels!

I mean, look at this guy. Photo by Jeremy Bezanger on Unsplash

And yet, I live in Los Angeles. Well, technically, I don’t. I live in Santa Monica. I do live in the greater Los Angeles area and Santa Monica is in Los Angeles County, so let’s just call it Los Angeles.

I’ve lived here twice as long as I lived in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA). Lately, I’ve been toying with the idea of retiring elsewhere, even going home to Canada, but LA is doing something right if it’s kept me here for 40 years.

--

--

Barbara Andres

Muddling through, one story at a time. Grab a cup of tea, pull up a chair, and let’s get curious together.